Provocations and work-in-progress  [PDF versionpdf]

The DIS 2014 Provocations and Works-in-Progress (PWiP) is a format that allows authors to propose novel, in-progress and thought provoking research. The PWiP format is intended to facilitate discussion between authors and conference attendees. We welcome all submissions related to the design of interactive systems as well as the conference theme of “Crafting Design”. We particularly welcome design/research contributions that value:


  • Novelty over evidence (You don’t need a user study!)
  • Provocation over generalization (You don’t need to make everyone happy!)
  • Design making over design guidelines (Why not show us, rather than tell?)


While PWiP submissions need not have reached the level of completion of Full Paper submissions, they should demonstrate a contribution in terms of research and/or design knowledge.



What to submit

1 – A paper not exceeding 4 pages in the extended abstract format. Link:


2 – A one sentence question summarizing your research that will prompt attendees to engage in discussion around your submission.


3 – Presentation artifact(s). Accepted PWiPs will be required to present a poster (any A0 size printed visual element) and/or video (3 minute limit) as means of presenting your work and engaging conference attendees. PWiP submissions must include a draft of either a poster or video or both. Presenters will also have an opportunity to present physical artifacts (e.g., 3D prototypes); submit images of any physical artifacts you would like to present during the PWiP session.


All submissions should be non-anonymized and submitted via the DIS 2014 PCS system by March 20, 2014, 5pm PST.



Thursday, March 20, 2014, 5pm PST – Submissions deadline

Thursday April 10th, 2014 – Author notification

Sunday April 20, 2014 – Camera ready deadline



Audrey Desjardins, Simon Fraser University

James Pierce, Carnegie Mellon University


P-WiP Program Committee

Gopi Kannabiran, Indiana University, USA

David Roedl, Indiana University, USA

Rebecca Gulotta, CMU, USA

Ramia Mazé, Interactive institute, Sweden

Maria Håkansson, Cornell University, USA

Josh Tanenbaum, SFU, Canada

Jay Vidyarthi, Canada

David Nguyen, Nokia, USA

Mikael Wiberg, Umea University, Sweden

Camille Moussette, Umea Institute of Design, Sweden

Jinsil Seo, Texas A&M University, USA

Anna Vallgårda, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Tom Bartindale, Newcastle University, UK

David Sirkin, Stanford, USA

Stuart Reeves, School of Computer Science University of Nottingham, UK

Tuck Leong, Newcastle University, UK

Sunyoung Kim, CMU, USA

Nicholas Davis, Georgia Tech, USA

Tim Fife, Australia

Last update: